Heading to Who-Ville at the Teacher Eddy Awards

Last Thursday, the LAX Coastal community went to Who-Ville at the Teacher Eddy Awards. Presented by the LAX Coastal Chamber of Commerce at the Hilton Los Angeles Airport Hotel on May 9, this year’s event attracted more than 350 educators, administrators, business leaders, and community members for an evening of celebration and recognition. Guests felt the spotlight during this Dr. Seuss-themed event, where they dined at tables featuring truffula tree and cat in the hat centerpieces and honored 21 Outstanding Teachers of the Year from our local schools.


Our 2018 Outstanding Teachers of the Year!

The LAX Coastal Chamber of Commerce recognizes the importance of education for a successful community. Our region is made stronger by inspiring the leaders of the future, and it is during the Teacher Eddy Awards where we express our thanks to the men and women who spend each day teaching in our local schools. Each outstanding teacher is presented with a crystal Eddy award, inscribed with the words “For Excellence in Education” and a star representing that, to the LAX Coastal Chamber, our teachers are some of our community’s biggest stars. Once again, we would like to say thank you to the below honorees. You are incredibly deserving of this award.

  • Cecilia Maravilla | Carousel School
  • Tsehai Russell | Cowan Avenue Elementary School
  • Kirsten Paul | Goethe International Charter School
  • Charmaine Wilson | Kentwood Elementary School
  • Brittany Nicole Jones | Loyola Village Elementary
  • Ellen A. Ensher, Ph.D | Loyola Marymount University
  • Christyn Saracino | New Middle School Pathway
  • Richard Lundquist | Otis College of Art & Design
  • Melisa Lauer | Paseo del Rey School
  • Natam Laurent | Playa Vista Elementary School
  • Marcus Petitt | St. Anastasia School
  • Monique Rigard | St. Bernard High School
  • Yvette G. Martini | St. Jerome School
  • José Murillo | Visitation School
  • Donna Anderson | Westchester Lutheran
  • Theodore Fortier | Westport Heights Elementary
  • Brooke Faill | Westside Neighborhood School
  • Wendy Johnston | WISH Community (TK-5th Grade)
  • Christina Nowak | WISH Academy High School
  • Daniel Hutterer | WISH Community (6th-8th Grade)
  • Kasey B. Kelly | Wright Middle School STEAM Magnet


At this event, the Chamber also recognizes local professionals that have given their time, talent, and treasure to elevate our education system. This year, we presented the “Friend of Education Award” to Andy O’Reilly of Loyola Marymount University, Mike Harriel of SoCalGas, and even surprised the President/CEO of the LAX Coastal Chamber at her own event by presenting Christina Davis with a Friend of Education Award, as well. A special “Lifetime Achievement in Education Award” was also presented to Sandra Masted of Westchester Lutheran Church & School for her 30+ years of support. This is only the seventh time that the Lifetime Achievement award has been bestowed since this event’s inauguration in 1983.

The LAX Coastal Chamber of Commerce is a proud supporter of education, and would like to recognize the sponsors who helped to make our 2018 Teacher Eddy Awards a success:

  • 4-Star Sponsors | Drollinger Family Charitable Foundation, HomeTown News, Rainbow Acres Washington Blvd., William H. Hannon Foundation
  • 3-Star Sponsors | Playa Venice Sunrise Rotary, Sarlo Income Tax Services, SYR Tutoring / J. Rosen Group
  • 2-Star Sponsors | LAX Coastal Education Foundation, Loyola Marymount University, SoCalGas, Westchester Lutheran Church & School, Westside Neighborhood School
  • 1-Star Sponsor | Goethe International Charter School, LAX Kiwanis, Otis College of Art and Design, St. Bernard High School
  • Teacher & Principal Sponsors | Los Angeles Airport Marriott, Renaissance Los Angeles Airport Hotel, SYR Tutoring, Westin Los Angeles Airport Hotel


2018 Teacher Eddy Awards Photo Album.

Photo credit: Angela Clouse / angelaclouse.com

Related Posts