Chamber Honors 23 Teachers of the Year

Congratulations to our 2019 Outstanding Teachers of the Year

Last Wednesday, the LAX Coastal community celebrated “How Sweet It Is To Be Taught By You” at the Teacher Eddy Awards. Presented by the LAX Coastal Chamber of Commerce at the Hilton Los Angeles Airport Hotel on May 15, this year’s event attracted more than 300 educators, administrators, business leaders, and community members for an evening of celebration and recognition. Guests felt the spotlight during this sweets-themed event, dined at tables with ice cream sundae floral centerpieces and candy galore, and honored 23 Outstanding Teachers of the Year from our local schools.

The LAX Coastal Chamber of Commerce recognizes the importance of education for a successful community. Our region is made stronger by inspiring the leaders of the future, and it is during the Teacher Eddy Awards where we express our thanks to the men and women who spend each day teaching in our local schools. Each outstanding teacher is presented with a special photo op with Zsuzsi Steiner Photography and a crystal Eddy award, inscribed with the words “For Excellence in Education” and a star representing that, to the LAX Coastal Chamber, our teachers are some of our community’s biggest stars. Once again, the Chamber would like to say thank you to the below honorees. You are incredibly deserving of this award.

  • Sherrevia Williams | Carousel School
  • Ana Sepulveda | Cowan Avenue Elementary School
  • Jessica Miller | Goethe International Charter School
  • Daisy Alvarado-Muñoz | Katherine Johnson STEM Academy
  • Allison Schildts | Kentwood Elementary School
  • Dr. Katerina Zacharia, PhD | Loyola Marymount University
  • Jeanine  Holguin | Loyola Village Fine & Performing Arts Magnet Elementary School
  • Soo Kim | Otis College of Art and Design
  • Laurie Brousseau | Paseo del Rey Natural Science Magnet School
  • Chryssa Elliott | Playa del Rey Elementary
  • Jon Weisbart | Playa Vista Elementary School
  • Lisa Scaltrito | St. Anastasia School
  • Taryn Hartley | St. Bernard High School
  • Amber Spence | St. Jerome School
  • Brent Rojo | Venice High School
  • Carolina O’Connor | Visitation Catholic School
  • Patricia Prokopidis | Westchester Enriched Sciences Magnets
  • Ryan James | Westchester Lutheran Church & School
  • Rebecca Braer | Westport Heights Elementary School
  • Megan Dalziel | WISH  Community School (TK-5th Grade)
  • Matt Lee | WISH Community School (6th-8th Grade)
  • Dr. Jennifer D. Branch | WISH Academy High School
  • Sheamonique Ellis | Wright Middle School STEAM Magnet

At this event, the Chamber also recognizes local professionals that have given their time, talent, and treasure to elevate our education system. This year, we presented the “Friend of Education Award” to Stephanie Younger of the Stephanie Younger Group | Compass, Dr. Michele Cooley-Strickland, and Matthew Swanlund of Aeshthetic Legal, former President of the LAX Coastal Education Foundation.

Congratulations to Dr. Michele Cooley-Strickland on receiving the Friends of Education Award

The LAX Coastal Chamber of Commerce is a proud supporter of education, and would like to recognize the sponsors who helped to make our 2019 Teacher Eddy Awards a success:

  • 3-Star Sponsors | Drollinger Family Charitable Foundation, HomeTown News, William H. Hannon Foundation
  • 2-Star Sponsors | LAX Coastal Education Foundation, Loyola Marymount University, Playa Venice Sunrise Rotary, Sarlo Income Tax, Stephanie Younger Group | Compass
  • 1-Star Sponsor | Kaiser Permanente, SoCalGas
  • Table Sponsor | Goethe International Charter School, Otis College of Art and Design, Westchester Lutheran Church & School
  • Teacher & Principal Sponsors | Jane St. John/REMAX Estate Properties, Los Angeles Airport Marriott, Renaissance Los Angeles Airport Hotel, Wells Fargo

Related Posts